An Independence Day is an annual event commemorating the anniversary of a nation’s independence or statehood, usually after ceasing to be a group or part of another nation or state, or more rarely after the end of a military occupation.

CountryDateIndependence from / Notes
Albania28. NovemberOttoman Empire
Austria26. OctoberAllied occupying powers (France, United Kingdom, United States, and Soviet Union)
Belarus03. JulyNazi Germany
Belgium21. JulyUnited Kingdom of Netherlands
Bosnia and Herzegovina01. MarchYugoslavia
Bulgaria22. SeptemberOttoman Empire
Croatia30. MayYugoslavia
Cyprus01. OctoberUnited Kingdom
Czech Republic28. OctoberAustria-Hungary
Estonia24. FebruaryRussian Empire
Finland06. DecemberRussian Empire
Iceland17. JulyDenmark
Ireland24. AprilUnited Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland
Kosovo17. FebruarySerbia
Latvia18. NovemberRussian Empire and German Empire
Lithuania11. MarchSoviet Union
Malta21. SeptemberUnited Kingdom
Moldova27. AugustSoviet Union
Montenegro21. MaySerbia and Montenegro
Netherlands26. JulySpanish Empire
North Macedonia08. SeptemberYugoslavia
Norway07. JunePortugal
Poland11. NovemberRussian Empire and German Empire
Portugal01. DecemberSpanish Empire
Serbia15. FebruaryOttoman Empire
Slovakia01. JanuaryCzechoslovakia
Slovenia26. DecemberYugoslavia
Sweden06. JuneCelebrates the election of King Gustav Vasa
Ukraine24. AugustSoviet Union

The above table includes current European countries that have public holidays dedicated to establishment of the country’s independence or sovereignty from a foreign power. These are all holidays exclusively tied to the establishment of independence.