There are 15 officially recognized Public Holidays in Germany. Public Holiday is usually a non-working day during the current year and it is generally established by law.

Public holidays are days of celebration where countries celebrate important historical or religious events. In some cases, there are public holidays which are celebrated exclusively in certain region of the country.

NameNative NameDateType
New Year’s DayNeujahrstag01. Jan. 2020 National Holiday
EpiphanyHeilige Drei Könige06. Jan. 2020 Regional Holiday
International Women’s DayFrauentag08. Mar. 2020 Regional Holiday
Good FridayKarfreitag10. Apr. 2020 Religious Holiday
Easter MondayOstermontag13. Apr. 2020 Religious Holiday
Labour DayTag der Arbeit01. May. 2020 National Holiday
Ascension DayChristi Himmelfahrt21. May. 2020 Religious Holiday
Whit MondayPfingstmontag01. Jun. 2020 Religious Holiday
Corpus ChristiFronleichnam11. Jun. 2020 Regional Holiday
Assumption of MaryMariä Himmelfahrt15. Aug. 2020 Regional Holiday
National HolidayTag der Deutschen Einheit03. Oct. 2020 National Holiday
All Saint’s DayAllerheiligen01. Nov. 2020 Regional Holiday
Day of Repentance and PrayerBuß- und Bettag18. Nov. 2020 Regional Holiday
ChristmasWeihnachtstag25. Dec. 2020 National Holiday
St. Stephen’s DayZweiter Weihnachtsfeiertag26. Dec. 2020 National Holiday