There are 17 officially recognized Public Holidays in Portugal. Public Holiday is usually a non-working day during the current year and it is generally established by law.

Public holidays are days of celebration where countries celebrate important historical or religious events. In some cases, there are public holidays which are celebrated exclusively in certain region of the country.

NameNative NameDateType
New Year’s DayAno Novo01. Jan. 2021🏛 National Holiday
Carnival in PortugalCarnaval16. Feb. 2021🏛 National Holiday
Good FridaySexta-feira Santa02. Apr. 2021✝ Religious Holiday
Easter MondayDomingo de Páscoa05. Apr. 2021✝ Religious Holiday
Freedom DayDia da Liberdade25. Apr. 2021🏛 National Holiday
Labour DayDia do Trabalhador01. May. 2021🏛 National Holiday
Autonomous Region of Azores DayDia dos Açores01. Jun. 2021📍 Regional Holiday
Corpus ChristiCorpo de Deus03. Jun. 2021✝ Religious Holiday
National HolidayDia de Portugal10. Jun. 2021🏛 National Holiday
Autonomous Region of Madeira and Madeiran Communities DayDia da Região Autónoma da Madeira e das Comunidades Madeirenses01. Jul. 2021📍 Regional Holiday
Assumption of MaryAssunção de Nossa Senhora15. Aug. 2021✝ Religious Holiday
Republic DayImplantação da República05. Oct. 2021🏛 National Holiday
All Saint’s DayDia de Todos-os-Santos01. Nov. 2021✝ Religious Holiday
Portugal DayRestauração da Independência01. Dec. 2021🏛 National Holiday
Immaculate ConceptionImaculada Conceição08. Dec. 2021✝ Religious Holiday
ChristmasNatal25. Dec. 2021🏛 National Holiday
Octavia 1stPrimeria Oitava26. Dec. 2021🏛 National Holiday
Next holiday in Portugal is Good Friday (02. Apr. 2021)